You can vote if you are:
- 18 years of age or older
- A U.S. citizen
- A Minnesota resident for at least 20 days before the election
- Not a convicted felon without your civil rights, have the right to vote, because if convicted of a felony, your felony sentence has expired (been completed) or you have been discharged from your sentence
- Not under guardianship of the person in which the court revokes your right to vote
- Not legally incompetent
Completing a Voter Registration Application
Voter registration is available through the Secretary of State's website. You can register by filling out an online voter registration application.
Registration applications are also available at the following locations:
- Blue Earth County Elections Office in the Historic Courthouse
204 S. Fifth St.
- Blue Earth County License Center - when you apply for or renew your driver's license
- Minnesota Secretary of State's Office
When you fill out the application, remember that you can only vote where you live. If you are a student living at school, you can choose whether to register at home or at school, but not both.
Registering on Election Day
If you miss registering before Election Day, you can still register on Election Day at your polling place. You will need proof of your identity and the address where you are currently living. For more information and instructions visit the Secretary of State website.