
Thank you for your interest in licensed day care.  Blue Earth County requires that all applicants
attend orientation.  Orientation for the 2017 calendar year is as follows:

January 17, 2017 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
May 16, 2017 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
September 19, 2017 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Orientation meetings are held three times a year at the Blue Earth County Government Center,
410 South Fifth Street, Mankato, Minnesota.  Times and dates are stated above.  Attendance for
the entire meeting is required.   Child care is NOT provided.  Please call to reserve a spot
for the date and time you will be attending by the 1st of the orientation month.  No walk-ins
will be allowed.

During the orientation meeting we will review the various forms and the rule that governs day
care licensing in Minnesota.  Depending on your situation, being licensed may be your choice or
it may be mandatory.  Under Minnesota Statute, Section 245A.03, Subdivision 2, the following
day care situations are excluded from licensure.

A. Day care provided by a relative to only related children.
B. Day care provided to children from a single, unrelated family for any length of time.
C. Day care provided for accumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12 month period.

The operator of a residence required to be licensed under Parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445 which is
operating without a license is subject to misdemeanor prosecution an injunction under Minnesota
Statutes, Section 245.803.  In most situations it is to your benefit to obtain the license not only
for liability purposes but also to enhance the quality of your work.

Effective January 1, 2008, Blue Earth County will charge an applicant a total fee of $150.00 to
become licensed.  ($100.00 for background studies and $50.00 for licensing inspections.)  A
check or money order for $100.00 is due submission of the application for licensure.
Background checks will not be initiated until the check is received.  Prior to the licensing visit,
which occurs after the fire marshal has inspected the home and corrections have been made, the
applicant must submit another check or money order for $50.00 to cover the inspection visit,
when applicable.  If a new applicant submits the application with a $100.00 fee for a background
study and does not follow through to become licensed, the $100.00 fee is forfeited.

If you have any questions, please contact Michelle Lechner, Day Care Case Aide, Blue Earth
County Human Services, (507) 304-4273.  Thank you.
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